Did the GFCI really save my insurance agent?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hockeyoligist2

I spent a little time with my insurance agent this morning, not job, homeowners and vehicle INS. I've know him a few years and he knows I'm an electrician. He loves to tell stories. Maybe to send me off track so I don't notice extra charges! ;)

He said that his basement flooded and he stepped in to the water to check things out and heard a click as soon as he stepped in. In the direction of his dehumidifier. After he pumped it down he found that the GFCI on his dehumidifier was tripped and thinks that it happened when he touched the water.

Wouldn't it have tripped from the dehumidifier being under water first? Or could he have triggered it?

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
It depend. If it is a 2 wire gfci it will run underwater till the motor burns out without tripping the gfci. If it were a 3 prong unit then I would think the gfci would trip.

BTW, I did an experiment at our local contractors meeting that blew them all away. I took an empty plastic staple bucket filled with water. I wired a porcelain socket to a 2 wire cord. The porcelain had no box either, I stuck a wp flood bulb in the socket and dropped it in the bucket. The gfci did not trip. To make it more interesting I stuck my hand in the water and it still did not trip. I took a tester and had about 20V to ground at the top of the bucket but as I moved the tester closer to the socket it tripped the gfci.

hurk27

To say it saved him would be a tough one, as they were probably more non-GFCI circuit in this basement that could have been a problem.