Noisy Ballasts

Status
Not open for further replies.

goldstar

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I have a installation with (6) 2-lamp, 4' - T-8 fluorescent light fixtures in a hair salon. The noise generated by the electronic ballasts are interfering with the radio reception. The ballasts in the fixtures are Sylvania and I've tried changing them out to Triad and still no better. Anyone have any suggestions ? Thanks.

kwired

Electron manager
If it's on a MWBC you may be getting harmonics through the neutral. So I'm assuming that it's a plugged in radio.

The harmonics are there whether it is a MWBC or not. They just cause extra heating in the neutral of a MWBC because they are additive there. If you don't use MWBC they will still be additive in feeder and service neutral conductors.

The ballast and/or lamp could be providing some RF that is interfering with the radio.

kwired

Electron manager
I remember when I was a first year apprentice and the journeyman told the homeowner "Call the FCC!"

They are probably FCC compliant though. They don't have to be completely free from RFI just have to meet certain standards.

If the equipment being interfered with is inside the acceptable zones then it is of no concern to FCC.

ASK_EDDIE

FCC

FCC

If it is interfering with a licensed radio service it "could" be an FCC concern,however
theyre busy with auctioning radio spectrum for profit to cell companys.
I am a ham operator I also have the same problem in my storage building and
I've had the same problem installing a new 4' strip light in a bar, it made lines through their tv. I ask for the supply company for a better ballast .. it helped some .
I did some research there is a residential compliant ballast that is suppose to fix this
issue though I havent tried them

uwireme

Is the radio battery powered? If you get it with the radio on batteries then it really cuts down the options.