'Load side tap'

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm an inspector and just saw what the installer is calling a load side tap. This is a residential PV instal that needs a 30 amp protected connection to the system.

200 amp main service panel does not have space for a breaker, so he tapped into the feeders to the only subpanel, after the 100amp breaker on the service bars protecting the subpanel feeders. The tap leads to the inverter via a separate 60 amp fused disconnect (as though it were a line side tap). No place to connect for a true line side tap.

Load side connections must be made AT a breaker or fusible disconnect, is my interpretation, so his feeder tap that leads to a fusible disconnect is not compliant, since the connection is made at a tap, not a breaker or fuse/switch.

Opinions?

Further, if the tap is compliant, the feeders could now be overfed by 20.3 amps (actual system capacity). He suggests reducing the feeder breaker from 100 to 80 amps. The sub only handles 15 and 20 amp lighting and receptacles so it should handle it at 80. Needs load calcs.

Is such a 'load side tap' compliant in this or any other way shape or form? There are of course several other solutions to this particular instal but I'm wondering specifically if tapping into conductors (or lugs) on the load side of the service disconnects can be code compliant.

Thanks

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Did he actually connect to the feeder conductors ? (split-bolt, polaris, etc)

jeffgreef

Yes, connected directly to the feeder conductors, inside the service enclosure, 5 inches below the breaker, with a tap connector the name of which I don't know.

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
I don't see any general problem with his method, so long as his tap complies with 240.21(B). Reducing the sub breaker is technically necessary, but it seems unfair to ask him to do so when he is only exceeding the 120% rule by .3 percent.