Transformer Overcurrent Protection Confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

A-1Sparky

Hey, guys. I've been reading a number of previous posts on the subject and have reviewed the code book, but still am unclear about a few things. When (under what circumstances) am I able to use the 250% rule for primary protection? When can I use primary overcurrent protection only to protect both the primary and secondary of the transformer? Table 450.3(B) indicates that secondary protection is not required for transformers rated 9 or more amps with up to 125% protection of the primary, yet secondary protection of conductors is almost always necessary according to 240.21(C). Just hoping for some clarification on this, as I'm studying for my master's exam. Thanks.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
As you noted, when dealing with transformer installations yiu must keep both Art 450 and 240 in mind.
In addressing the transformer protection (Art 450), you can elect to have primary and secondary protection or primary protection only in which case the overcurrent protection device can not exceed 125% (for transformers over 9 amps) of the transformer current (next larger permitted). If you have both primary and secondary protection, you primnary can be as high as 250%.
Once you have protected the transformer you need to address the conductor protection. For that you use Art 240.21(C).
Any transformer other than a two-wire primary and secondary, or a delta-delta 3 phase, will require secondary conductor protection in accordance with 240.21(C)(2) thru (C)(6).
If you have a two wire primary and secondary or delta-delta, if you address the transformer ration and assure your conductors are sized accordingly, the secondary conductors may be protected by the primary overcurrtent device

That help any ?

A-1Sparky