Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessica111

This may be a dumb question or possibly the wrong place to post, just let me know or point me in the right direction and I will certainly appreciate it. I am basically trying to determine if OSHA has regulations for a person who works on electrical things to be a licensed electrician? I see many things that uses the term, "qualified," but no specific information about what that means or how it changes from state to state. For example, being asked to disconnect and connect an electrical motor, check amps on electrical equipment, remove or replace 20, 30, 40 horse power motors with 240/480 volts on the motors. Sorry if I am saying this wrong but I'm new to all this stuff. I'm in Geology, no real expertise in electrical matters, etc. The company does provide some training and PPEs but something tells me this type of work should be done by a licensed electrician or at least directly supervised/checked by one. Thanks for any input or guidance in advance.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
There are no OSHA requirements that a "qualified" person performing work on electrical equipment be a licensed electrician.

Jessica111

Thanks!

Thanks!

Thanks for the reply. Well, what typically constitutes being qualified? This may sound stupid but in your experience what kind of training would ensure someone is qualified enough to check amps, remove/replace motors, disconnect/reconnect motors, etc.? I'm asking because my current employer seems to be weeding out the electricians who used to do these things and is asking general folks to carry out these tasks. When I questioned if this was a task for a licensed electrician, I was told to find something stating so and they might reconsider. It seems like a huge liability risk for them to even go there when most of us doing these tasks do not have an extensive background in electrical matters. What's your opinion?

LEO2854

Esteemed Member