nursing homes

Status
Not open for further replies.

kwired

Electron manager
Is it permissible to use HCF in a new nursing home for the rooms critical power plugs and lights ect?

If the room is a patient care area that is exactly what that cable was designed for. Only other option is metal raceways with insulated equipment grounding conductors installed within.

Strife

Are you refering to health care facility otherwise known as hospital grade mc cable?

Isn't hospital grade MC just a glorified BX with an insulated ground wire?(so to comply with the 2 grounds?)
As in instead of being a 12-3 BX with Black, Red, White it's a 12-3 BX with a Black, GREEN, and white. Or, I guess it would be called a 12-2 BX with an insulated ground, or, I guess you also might call it a HCF MC????

iwire

Staff member
Is it permissible to use HCF in a new nursing home for the rooms critical power plugs and lights ect?

For critical power?

I am not an expert but wouldn't this apply?

517.30 Essential Electrical Systems for Hospitals.

(C) Wiring Requirements.

(3) Mechanical Protection of the Emergency System.
The wiring of the emergency systems in hospitals shall be
mechanically protected. Where installed as branch circuits
in patient care areas, the installation shall comply with the
requirements of 517.13(A) and (B). The following wiring
methods shall be permitted:

(1) Nonflexible metal raceways, Type MI cable, or Schedule
80 PVC conduit. Nonmetallic raceways shall not be
used for branch circuits that supply patient care areas.

(2) Where encased in not less than 50 mm (2 in.) of concrete,
Schedule 40 PVC conduit, flexible nonmetallic or jacketed
metallic raceways, or jacketed metallic cable assemblies
listed for installation in concrete. Nonmetallic raceways
shall not be used for branch circuits that supply
patient care areas.

(3) Listed flexible metal raceways and listed metal sheathed
cable assemblies in any of the following: