Art. 680

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was recently called to look at a small job to do on the "side" from a person whom I've never worked for before. The customer just wants me to put in a receptacle for their removable pool pump and a second receptacle for their pool lighting to plug into. Down and dirty, pretty simple. The pool is an above ground.

The receptacle for the pump is 120v 20A twist-lock, does this need to be GFI protected?

The pool has been in place for over a year, I don't think that anyone has touched it electrically speaking. The first guy they called was a no-show, the trench has been open for over a year, and now I'm involved.

The residence is an hour away from me, not somewhere I can just swing by at any time of the day and have a chat with the homeowners about it, but I will be making a phone call to them tomorrow. I also have to give the Inspector of Wires a call and coordinate things on his part, as I've never worked in this town before either.

I've never touched a pool in my life, they aren't something I've had the opportunity to work on before and this is my first time being involved with one. If there hasn't been any bonding done, it's my understanding I have to run an equipotential bonding grid in #8 solid around the pool. Correct? Do I also have to hit the uprights?

Thanks for any input.

I forgot to add that I'm aware that I have to bond the water, does that also come off the #8 solid? And these are questions I've come up with since initially looking at the job and while putting together my proposal. I don't want to miss something huge, and come out looking like a fool.

Some of you may know me from over at ET.

Last edited:

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
The pool is above ground but is it classified as storable by art. 680-- 42" or less in depth

Last edited:

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor