Transformer Maximum Power Transfer Quesiton

Status
Not open for further replies.

tankfarms

I'm studying for my PE exam and encountered a sample question like below. I don't quite understand the third solution provided. How come we are not using impedance (Z) for calculation but instead we only use resistance (R). Also, to calculate the load current, I thought it would be just to divide the secondary voltage (1240/4 = 30V) by the impedance of the secondary circuit, but using such thinking got me the wrong answer.

Can anyone help explain the third question and its provided solution?

MicrosoftPowerPoint-12012525224103.jpg

T

T.M.Haja Sahib

I'm studying for my PE exam and encountered a sample question like below. I don't quite understand the third solution provided. How come we are not using impedance (Z) for calculation but instead we only use resistance (R). Also, to calculate the load current, I thought it would be just to divide the secondary voltage (1240/4 = 30V) by the impedance of the secondary circuit, but using such thinking got me the wrong answer.

Maximum power transfer when source impedance is equal to load impedance. Here capacitance on primary and inductance on secondary and so on maximum power transfer, they cancel, leaving the resistances.

Applying transformation ratio to find out the secondary voltage does not work here because of presence of large resistance on the primary side.

LMAO

First of all, there is a forum dedicated to FE/PE candidates. I used it when I was studying for my PE. It is here:
http://engineerboards.com/index.php?showforum=4