False Smoke Detector Alarm Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

archerllc

Hello Everyone-

As you can see from my number of posts that I am a "newbie" here. I am a relatively new contractor as well with about 6 years experience, but recently obtained my Masters License and start a small business.

My question actually comes from work done on my personal home. My wife and I purchased a house that was originally built in 1890 and had an addition put on in 1997. There were several updates that were done at that time including re-wiring the existing home. Thy installed hard wire smoke detectors in the master bedroom and the loft above, but did not wire smoke detectors in the remaining older portion of the home. When we started our renovations I wanted to tie smoke detectors in to the rest of the house. I added 4 other detectors and everything was great for about 3 months, than I started getting false alarms in the middle of the night. They would go off for about 10 seconds and stop and then not again for a few nights. After disconnecting one at a time I found that the two original detectors APPEAR to be problem. With both disconnected for the past 6 months there have been no issues.

I used Firex smoke detectors, replacing the original 2 when I installed the rest. I also tried swapping out detectors with an extra that I had thinking that I could have purchased a dud.

I am kind of puzzled as to what might be causing this so I thought I would reach out to you all. Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated.

Thank you,

-Josh

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor