Panelboards sharing neutral

Status
Not open for further replies.

millerjohn

I am a QC Electrical Inspector with CH2MHILL at camp Leatherneck, Afghanistan. Trying to find a refrence for sharing neutrals between panelboards fed from the same source. Situation is this: 400A main dist. panel (208/120 3PH) feeds individual rooms each with a single phase 60A sub-panel/panelboard. Neutal is shared between three phases with one phase (each) supplying (each) panelboard. Junction boxes are used to carry the neutral on to the next room. Hence, one neutral; three circuits fed from three single pole breakers; feeding three separate rooms. Should single pole breakers be grouped together and handle ties installed?
Thanks!

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
That is truly an unusual situation but IMO it is compliant with either a 3 pole breaker or handle ties. Odd because it is a branch circuit design for a feeder.

iwire

Staff member
That is truly an unusual situation but IMO it is compliant with either a 3 pole breaker or handle ties. Odd because it is a branch circuit design for a feeder.

It is not a branch circuit at all if I understand it.

That said a 3 pole common trip breaker would be required.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
It is not a branch circuit at all if I understand it.

That said a 3 pole common trip breaker would be required.

No it is not a branch circuit-- it is a feeder being used like a MWBC-- common neutral used at 3 panels with one ungrounded conductor for each panel. I am not sure the code addresses this setup - I don't see why a handle tie wouldn't be acceptable in this setup.

iwire

Staff member
No it is not a branch circuit-- it is a feeder being used like a MWBC-- common neutral used at 3 panels with one ungrounded conductor for each panel. I am not sure the code addresses this setup - I don't see why a handle tie wouldn't be acceptable in this setup.