Arc Flash Analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

69jag

who has the authority to conduct an arc flash analysis in the state of oklahoma? May an unlimited electrical contractor conduct an arc flash analysis by the laws of Oklahoma or is it a legal requirement that a Electrical Engineer or Electrical engineering firm conduct such analysis. I am an unlimited oklahoma electrical contractor and have passed an arc flash continued education class from an electrical engineering accreditd class and if I am not legally allowed to conduct such analysis then why are there so many classes one can take to conduct such analysis? this seems to be a very gray area.
I am licensed ubder title 59 Oklahom statute. as an Electrical contractor I make electrical mathmatical calculations every day ( it seems ) I do electrical work every day ( it seems ) Whats the deal and where is the code ruling on this matter ? Thanks

69jag

appaerntly

appaerntly

I receieved a Cease and Desist order from the www.pels.ok.gov and would like to gather information as to the Authority or are they trying to grab all arc flash analysis in Oklahoma ? Political !!! We as Electrical Contractors provide over current protection, etc.etc. and have to buy insureance policies to protect the customers eveything we touch and install an analysis is really no different is it ? unqulified workers should not be working with electric period. Thank You Bob for replying

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
it is entirely possible that the state has determined such activity is "engineering". I just don't know.

In general it is no more complex than many things contractors routinely design without any engineering supervision.

69jag

DYI

DYI

I did pass an exam from a Electrical Engineer its not like I just screwed in a light bulb and said I can. I did not fill in every minor detail. Thanks for your oppinion anyway God Bless. Have a good evening.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems