UV damage and ladders

Status
Not open for further replies.

JJWalecka

I have noticed that the sun can be brutal to ladders.
What steps do others take to protect ladders and get the most use out of an investment?
I was reading about periodically coat ladders with polyurethane, wax or acrylic paint, to combat the effects of sunlight on the ladder.

John120/240

I have no experience with polyutherane or wax, but I do know never ever paint a ladder. The

reasoning is that the paint will make a defect in the ladder harder to see. Painting your company

name or such in stencils on the ladder should not be a problem.

JJWalecka

I have no experience with polyutherane or wax, but I do know never ever paint a ladder. The

reasoning is that the paint will make a defect in the ladder harder to see. Painting your company

name or such in stencils on the ladder should not be a problem.

It was my assumption that painting was a no no also. I was surprised that Ehow suggested it.

Fulthrotl

~Autocorrect is My Worst Enema.~
It was my assumption that painting was a no no also. I was surprised that Ehow suggested it.

painting a ladder violates OSHA, i believe.

Ehow violates common sense.

edit:
werner suggests painting. i was taught in my apprenticeship painting with anything
other than clear was verboten, violated OSHA regulations.

i still hold that Ehow violates common sense. i'm not moving off that position.

Last edited:

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
painting a ladder violates OSHA, i believe.

Ehow violates common sense.

edit:
werner suggests painting. i was taught in my apprenticeship painting with anything
other than clear was verboten, violated OSHA regulations.

i still hold that Ehow violates common sense. i'm not moving off that position.

My understanding is the OSHA issue with ladders is painting over the warning labels and instructions. As long as you don't paint over the labels, it is not an OSHA issue. YMMV.

renosteinke