Tap Rules with new service

Status
Not open for further replies.

ResSparky

I am a residential electrician who has the chance to do a very straight forward commercial job, but I have a question that I could kindly use some input on.....

A large building is divided into 5 office/warehouse spaces. The main service is 800 amp 120/208v three phase four wire terminating into a 800 amp main breaker panelboard (just with the one 800 amp main breaker). To the right of this panel is a very typical inter-connecting gangable metering system (with 100 main breaker with each meter) that are connected to the main panel load side busbars for the single phase power to each office subpanel for general lighting/use.

To the left of the panel is an enclosure that is also connected to the main panel load side busbars which have terminal lugs for cable that is feeding (thru a very large gutter and with 6' in distance from main panel) a 400 amp "termination box" to provide three phase 4 wire power to any office that requires a three phase panel. Two office/warehouses have existing three phase 200 amp services from the lugs in the termination box, into a meter socket, into a fused main disconnect, and running quite a distance into the panel located in their offices.