Detached garage(s) multi-family

Status
Not open for further replies.

wirebender

An apartment we are doing has outbuildings containing between 6 and 10 garage/storage rooms.
Only electrical is a GDO in each room and 3 or 4 outside lights.
Plans call for a separate circuit to each GDO from a panel at the mechanical building and a circuit from the house panel of a nearby dwelling building to feed the lights.

This doesn't seem right to me but i have never done apartments before.
Is there some exception that allows that many circuits to an outbuilding in an apartment complex? Especially from 2 different panels in separate buildings?

jumper

Would 225.30(E) apply?

(E) Documented Switching Procedures. Additional feeders
or branch circuits shall be permitted to supply installations
under single management where documented safe
switching procedures are established and maintained for
disconnection.

kwired

Electron manager
225.30 Number of Supplies. A building or other structure
that is served by a branch circuit or feeder on the load side
of a service disconnecting means shall be supplied by only
one feeder or branch circuit unless permitted in 225.30(A)
through (E).

I don't see anything in (A) through (E) that applies to your situation.

Why not run one feeder and install a panel at the separate structure? Put it either outdoors or in a common area if there is one.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
Is there some exception that allows that many circuits to an outbuilding in an apartment complex? Especially from 2 different panels in separate buildings?
Seems like quite a stretch, but perhaps...

225.30 said:
(D) Different Characteristics. Additional feeders or branch
circuits shall be permitted for different voltages, frequencies,
or phases or for different uses, such as control of
outside lighting from multiple locations

Are these AHJ reviewed and approved plans?

kwired

Electron manager