Motor Protection?

Status
Not open for further replies.

samir

I am new to my job so having problem understanding this:
The 60HP motor is fed from a 200Amp breaker and cable size is #2AWG (115Amps).

Question: Why is the cable rated ampacity less than the circuit breaker? This will not protect the cable.
And why is the design of the cable and breaker different for motors than the other loads?

I checked NEC was not clear with the motor protection Article 430.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
First thing to understand about motor circuits is you have two separate requirements for protection: 1) ground fault; short circuit, and 2) overload. In motor circuits, the overload protection protects both motor and its conductors. The supplying OCPD (in this case a breaker) must have a high enough rating to not nuisance trip on startup (motors have high current inrush on startup).

samir

First thing to understand about motor circuits is you have two separate requirements for protection: 1) ground fault; short circuit, and 2) overload. In motor circuits, the overload protection protects both motor and its conductors. The supplying OCPD (in this case a breaker) must have a high enough rating to not nuisance trip on startup (motors have high current inrush on startup).

Thanks Smart $ for a prompt reply.

So for instance if there is a 60HP motor, FLA= 69Amps, LRA=470 Amps.
How to go about sizing the wire and breaker?

If there was an VFD would that make a difference in the sizing of both?

Basically, wire size, breaker (short circuit and ground fault protection) is based off the table in 430.250, thats called FLC full load current.

Name plate amps better known as FLA is used to size the overloads.

Assuming this 60hp is a 3 phase 480 volt motor,

art. 430.22(A) 430.6 Wire size has to be at least 125% of the FLC (table amps) 77 X 1.25=96.25

art. 430.52 Table 430.52