Replacing Mercury Vapour Ballast

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavidLuck

Hello everyone,
I have a question. Is it safe to replace mercury vapour ballast with metal halide ballast?
My office is still using MV lamp for lighting and most of MV ballast already obsolete.
Btw, the lamp that we use is 100 W Mercury vapour lamp.
I'm new in this field so I really appreciate for all the advice
Thanks

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Legally it is probably not compliant as the fixture is listed for MV. I don't think there is a practical issue with doing it.

norcal

I was under the assumption that a 100W MH lamp was pulse start, this could be a big problem if the existing merc lamp holders are not rated for that......

LEO2854

Esteemed Member
Hello everyone,
I have a question. Is it safe to replace mercury vapour ballast with metal halide ballast?
My office is still using MV lamp for lighting and most of MV ballast already obsolete.
Btw, the lamp that we use is 100 W Mercury vapour lamp.
I'm new in this field so I really appreciate for all the advice
Thanks

You can replace the ballast with any type you want just use a lamp that matches the ANSI rating of the lamp.

ANSI H38 - H100 is a 100 watt mercury vapor lamp,So on the Ballast it should say H38 ,on it.

Also some Mercury vapor ballast will run Metal halide lamps and will have the ANSI code for those lamps marked on the ballasts as well
In that case look for the ANSI code ,ANSI M140/M90/E,and they will work fine in those fixtures.

broadgage

I appreciate that this is not answering the question, but it might be time to consider alternative lighting ?
Mercury lamps have a very poor efficiency by modern standards, not much better than incandescents.
Depending on the fixture design it might be worth removing the ballasts and fitting compact flourescent lamps. A 30 or 40 watt CFL would give as much light and have no ballast losses.