Organizing As a Supervisor

• Yes

Votes: 5 17.2%
  • No

Votes: 24 82.8%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been an electrician for 18 years. I've been with this company for 3 months. After my first month they sent my supervisor to to another job and put me in charge. I have any where from 5 to 10 workers at any given time. I don't seem to be effective as a worker anymore with all the explaining what needs to be done and the main contractor isn't much help. Any time I ask the Site Forman a question. "I ain't got a clue" is his go to answer. I'm just stressing over how to organize all the change order papers, delivery invoices, time sheets, etc. I only have a home made print table with a cardboard box for the papers. A big blue tube I stuffed the prints in. A gang box for tools. What i'm trying to figure out is should I even try to use my tools. And do I need some sort of training in the art of how to do all this what I would consider project management. I love being an electrician but this is really stressing me out.

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager
You should always feel the sense of urgency to pick up your tools, but not be perplexed that it doesn't happen 4 days out of 5.

It's not stress, it's appreciation for the timetables contrasted against the available manpower.

Stay happy, keep moving, and lead by example.

growler

I voted that a foreman should not were tools but I have had 10-15 guys working and was still able to do some work. The reason was that all the electricians working on that particular project were very experienced and needed little supervision.

The most important thing is for you to be a supervisor.

One guy can only do so much but if the foreman isn't doing his job you can have 10 guys not working and that's a problem.