How many conductors in 1 phase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

goodoboy

Hello,

I am confusing myself. I am new to electrical studies and trying to calculate voltage drop (and determine what size gauge wire to use) for 260ft, 120V 1phase, 12.5 amps. I want to use #12, but not sure it work.

If I have a 120V 1 phase load (12.5amps), how many wires/conductors are in the cable? Is it 3?

If its 3, do I enter 3 for date entry field 8 here http://www.mikeholt.com/documents/freestuff/Copy_of_voltage_drop_calculations_by_Bill_Bamford.xls ??

I am not sure what to select if it says "select the number of parallel wires"

http://www.calculator.net/voltage-drop-calculator.html If I have a 120V 1phase load, what do I select where it says Number of conductors?

THank you kindly. I am bit loss

Last edited:

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
For conductors to be "parallel", they connect to the same point (terminal) at both ends.
If you have a 120v 3 wire circuit, the conductors are not considered to be in parallel.
(Actually the Code does not allow paralleling conductors smaller than 1/0*)

* as almost always "with exceptions"

Last edited:

goodoboy

For conductors to be "parallel", they connect to the same point (terminal) at both ends.
If you have a 120v 3 wire circuit, the conductors are not considered to be in parallel.
(Actually the Code does not allow paralleling conductors smaller than 1/0)

Thanks for your help. But I am not sure I understand. I need help with what to enter on the voltage drop spreadsheet where it says "select number of parallel wires" or " Number of conductors" on the calculator.

I am thinking to enter 3, because I have 3 wires.

I am confused and lost

gar

Occupation
EE
130724-1839 EDT

goodoboy:

The problem is that you are just plugging numbers into an equation without understanding the fundamentals.