Bonding CSST Gas Manifold ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bob Sisson

Ok, I ran into one the other day doing a Pre-drywall inspection for a client. (I'm a home inspector)
The MANIFOLD in the middle of the house wasn't bonded to anything. The plumber said that the Meter was bonded so he didn't need to bond the Manifold.

There was CSST from the Meter to the Manifold, and then lots of smaller CSST pipes to the individual appliances.

Am I right that the Manifold in the Middle of the house should be bonded to the Panels along with a bond to the Meter.

(Is more better?)

Bob Sisson, ACI

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Bob you only need to bond the csst at the point of entrance to the building on the load side of the meter. Sounds like the ec is correct

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Should it be done differently on a propane system, no meter?
Jim Kasterko, ACI

The type of gas or having a meter or not is not relevant. The gas code requires bonding of CSST. The gas company does not want their underground pipes used as an electrode but I don't see an issue with propane lines feeding a single home

Riograndeelectric

Bob you only need to bond the csst at the point of entrance to the building on the load side of the meter. Sounds like the ec is correct

Is this true for any connection of CSST?

what if the house is solid pipe and some one adds a run of CSST do you then bond the load side of the meter.
I thought you were supposed to bond the CSST fitting at the connection point to the gas line ?

This is what I read on most all of the CSST manufactures web site the last time I ran into CSST that was an extension of the black pipe inside the house

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation

what if the house is solid pipe and some one adds a run of CSST do you then bond the load side of the meter.
I thought you were supposed to bond the CSST fitting at the connection point to the gas line ?