Threading PVC in the Field

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I have a question, Is threading electrical PVC conduit (Sch 40 and/or Sch 80) in the field an approved/listed means for construction?

I personally have never seen this done in the field, nor would I thread PVC in the field. I am questioning if it is not allowed/not allowed per code or standard or if it is not threaded based on convenience or cost.

Thank you for your responses.

JDBrown

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I'm no electrician, but the only method I've ever seen for adding threads to PVC was by gluing a threaded fitting onto the end. Are you talking about cutting threads into a PVC conduit?

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Personally, never seen nor heard of this being done before.

Likewise. And I was surprised to see a question here about whether PVC (electrical) with one bell end per length was standard or not....
But never threaded.
And I admit that I do not know whether the threaded PVC fittings use molded or cut threads. But the surface treatment on them seems to be different from straight tubing.

jaylectricity

Occupation
licensed journeyman electrician
I don't even see a usable purpose for doing so. I suppose if you had a way to do it and you were doing a job where you needed to land the PVC in a box, didn't have a male adapter and the closest supply house was an hour away. But that's a long-shot to carry any kind of threading device on the truck. Probably should just have male adapters for all the common pipe sizes.

kwired

Electron manager
I don't even see a usable purpose for doing so. I suppose if you had a way to do it and you were doing a job where you needed to land the PVC in a box, didn't have a male adapter and the closest supply house was an hour away. But that's a long-shot to carry any kind of threading device on the truck. Probably should just have male adapters for all the common pipe sizes.