ArcFlash Rules for Teaching Labs in University

Status
Not open for further replies.

I am a professor of Engineering Technology at the University of Toledo. Does NFPA 70E apply to educational labs? In other words, do students have to be protected in a motors lab from the same arc flash rules found in industry. We have labs with exposed 230 VAC and I have refused to teach with this equipment.

My course has been re-structured using less than 50 VAC which is really difficult since we can't do much with ac motors.

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
Have you read the Purpose (90.1) and Scope (90.2) of 70E? You are an employee of the school; are the students employees while in the lab?

Technically, the rules only apply to you; however, any avoidable accidents that would have been prevented by observing 70E could still expose the school to liability. Talk to the school's legal counsel. We aren't attorney's.

fmtjfw

It's the amps

It's the amps

The energy from an accident can be controlled by providing resistance/reactance in the circuit. Get an EE buddy to help you figure out what you need for 120/240V to prevent arc flash. [Arc flash is actually pretty hard to get for 120/240 with small enough available amps]

If you are worried about electrocutions, follow 70E, PPE for measurements; lockout for wiring.

-- OR --
treat students like apprentices -- expendable :dunce::D

Smart $

Esteemed Member
... We have labs with exposed 230 VAC and I have refused to teach with this equipment.

The simplest solution is to change the exposed conductors to non-exposed, protected. Keep in mind non-exposed or protected is not the equivalent of not visible... meaning clear, see-through barriers can provide arc flash protection. Not so much on the visible flash if an arc were to occur, but depending on configuration, could significantly reduce the potential for an arc to occur.