Mechanical Engineer wants to learn more EE for Power Industry

Status
Not open for further replies.

winnie3

Hi all,

I got my degree in ME, but would very much like to learn more detailed aspects of Electrical Engineering especially as it relates to power generation, transmission, and distribution. Can anyone recommend a good book or two or other resources. I've taken circuit analysis classes as part of my ME education, but we didn't get into a lot of detail of AC, 3-phase power, or a lot of practicalities in the industry.

thanks,
JP

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Power engineering is a lot like joining the Masons. Much of it is not available to mere mortals.

I will sell you the secret handshake and code words though so you can get in. :)

gar

Occupation
EE
131019-2046 EDT

winnie3:

You need to more completely define your goals. If you really want to become an EE, then the most efficient way is to go back to a classroom school.

If you just want some background in a specific area, then self study in a book may work.

If your goal is to simply have some background to support your mechanical work, then you need broad concept fundamentals. For example: an ideal three phase motor with a constant amplitude rotating magnetic vector (in the real world it is pretty close) has a constant output torque, while a single phase motor has a significant pulsation to output torque. A single phase motor is like pumping a swing, and three phase motor is like a weight, a drum, and a rope.

Hi all,

I got my degree in ME, but would very much like to learn more detailed aspects of Electrical Engineering especially as it relates to power generation, transmission, and distribution. Can anyone recommend a good book or two or other resources. I've taken circuit analysis classes as part of my ME education, but we didn't get into a lot of detail of AC, 3-phase power, or a lot of practicalities in the industry.

thanks,
JP