Baseboard Heaters

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

Im new to this site and I love it. Im only an electrician helper and had a question. Changing a thermostat at my moms and its a wall mount. there is 2 8' heaters on a 220 volt circuit. My question is. There is only one piece of 12/2 going to the thermostat and the new thermostat has 4 wires. 2 line and 2 load I believe. The thermostat that is on there now only has 2 wires black and red. any idea how to wire a new one?

The thermostat that is on there now is programmable. It always say the room air is 80 so the heat wont kick on.

Thanks

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Hello,

Im new to this site and I love it. Im only an electrician helper and had a question. Changing a thermostat at my moms and its a wall mount. there is 2 8' heaters on a 220 volt circuit. My question is. There is only one piece of 12/2 going to the thermostat and the new thermostat has 4 wires. 2 line and 2 load I believe. The thermostat that is on there now only has 2 wires black and red. any idea how to wire a new one?

The thermostat that is on there now is programmable. It always say the room air is 80 so the heat wont kick on.

Thanks

This is a line voltage thermostat, right? The new one may just be a two pole switch where the old one was single pole. Current practice would be to interrupt both hot leads, but since they do not both run to the switch location you cannot do that.

The programmable thermostat probably has a battery. Did you insert or enable the battery and also peel off the piece of plastic over the currently dead display that has 80 printed on it?
Just a guess, but worth at try.....:angel:

iwire

Staff member
I agree the original is likely just a line voltage single pole thermostat.

This is still an acceptable installation for 240 heat in most applications. See 424.20(B) for details.