Odd DC Circuit Breaker Wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

dynamictiger

Hi

First off I am not an electrician so please forgive me for posting here. However I do work in the electrical related industry and am responsible for design of control boards, PLC programming and so on even though I am not qualified so I am not a total layman either.

Long story short my Solar PV system has issues relating to installation. After some enquiries I arranged for the power company compliance officer to inspect the site and he found several faults. I am awaiting their final report, but this particular thing had me curious.

One of the items found looked like incorrect wiring of the DC Circuit Breaker. The type is polarised. But my question is broader than that.

On the circuit breaker the DC positive from the solar array came into a connection point on the circuit breaker and in the same connection point there was a cable connected back to the earth bar. This as I understand it and as shown by the inspectors meter is effectively taking the solar output to earth.

Besides the fact this makes no sense to me whatsoever, is there some reason you may wire a DC circuit this way? Has the installer wired the circuit breaker like an isolator, a common fault I understand?

Sorry I am just curious. Thanks for looking.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
( I allowed this post even though the poster advises he is not in the trade. His post is asking for an explanation and not, IMO, a DIY post)

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
It is certainly possible that the system is wired up for positive ground on the array. Where does the array negative connect?
At least one line of solar panels will not work unless the positive end of the string is grounded. That then requires an inverter that accepts positive ground.

Also, for a nominally ungrounded array, what you see may actually be part of a ground detection circuit.