Residential troubleshooting question

Status
Not open for further replies.
To start with, I'm an apprentice. Also, I have never done any residential work And I just moved to a new state so I don't have anyone else to ask yet. My grandfather is having a problem with his bedroom circuits. Two bedrooms are on one circuit with outlets and switch lighting. She said last night that he smelled "that O-Zone smell", and the power and those two bedrooms one out. Problem is, the breakers didn't trip. What do I need to look into. Any help would be much appreciated

cowboyjwc

Staff member
I think that you are just going to have to open boxes and see if the wiring failed.

Simple answer could be that you have a GFCI on the line and it tripped.

I'm guessing that if he smelled something, that my first answer is more likely. I would also turn off that circuit until you find the cause.

novemberaudi

I have seen instances where the breaker tripped but the handle did not got to the center tripped position. You could try turning off and on all the breakers and see if it helps.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
You might start with a plug in tester and see if you can find a point where power has failed, if any, to try and give you a better start point.
Other than that I agree with the other answers..open boxes and disconnect power except for troubleshooting until you find it
( My $$ would be on a loose connection at an outlet_)

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
some contractors call me a "wood-head"... here I though it was an insult :D (some use other hyphenated similar terms)

back stab receptacles will burn loose over time
corrosion of bus will prevent voltage at breaker
if you loose neutral, 120V loads will not burn but show voltage present with pen testers
check for hot and neutral

templdl