Seperate Meter for EV - grounding method question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newer electrical contractor, who has been using the forum as a lurker for some time now to get explanations of things that might not be so clear in the NEC. Great forum!

I've run into a situation that no one local seems to be sure of.

I have a customer wanting a seperate meter installed for their 100A Electric Vehicle Charger. It's from an underground feed, so far the plan is to install a pull box between the Socal Edison transformer and the 200A installed panel, (directly under the 200A panel), and install a second 100A meter/panel next to the 200A panel as a separate SE, fed from the pull box below the original panel. As a SE, I know it will have to be grounded to both a grounding electrode and the water line, but my question is do I have to run a seperate ground all the way to the electrode in the ground and water line? Or can I feed the ground through the pull box and into the grounding circuit in the 200A panel? Would this be considered a "bonded" connection and inadeqaute? I put a call into the inspector at the local AHJ, but they didn't get back to me yet and are closed on Fridays. The customer wants the proposal by the weekend, and it is a lot faster (i.e. less expensive) to run to the original panel than clear down the house where the nearest water pipe is.

I do appreciate your input!

What I learned from the inspector - while it is technically not a "separately derived system" as defined in the NEC, it still requires its own separate ground rod and EGC (which I put in anyway, just to be safe).

I'm a newer electrical contractor, who has been using the forum as a lurker for some time now to get explanations of things that might not be so clear in the NEC. Great forum!

I've run into a situation that no one local seems to be sure of.