Options to Add Ckts in Residential Installation

Status
Not open for further replies.
First time post.

My experience is in power systems design engineering, installation, and commissioning in industrial petro-chem applications... needless to say I have little experience in residential wiring norms and I'm seeking some input on a few options I'm considering.

Situation:
Home built in 1979, 16 ckt load center, 100A Main, no spare space.
Kitchen remodel requires addition of 1-2 circuits.
Current and future connected load doesn't warrant a 200A service.
Plenty of wall space and working clearance at location of existing panel.

Other:
Local code requires ckts ran in conduit (emt).
Permit and inspection will based on 2011NEC with local amendments.

I'm debating these options:

1. Add a small sub panel, move over 2 ckts, add a 2 pole breaker to feed sub-panel. Add additional circuits as required to remaining space in sub-panel.

2. Change out existing panel for a 200A 25-KAIC panel with space for 32 ckts, install a 100A main. Move over all ckts. Idea being that if for some reason in the future the connected load warrants a 200A service it would be a small job to upgrade.

3. Same as above... leave 200A main, upgrade the service for the benefit of having flexability and for future homeowners.

4. Upgrade service, add a small 200A panel, 12 ckts, 200A main, feed current main panel as sub-panel, use remaining space to to add new circuits.

My preference is option 1 to save time and money. However, I wanted to put it to some folks with residential experience to understand what their preference would be and why? What would be most commonly done? I'm not opposed to spending more especially if it saved time.

Thanks for reading.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor