EXCEL BASED CALACULATOR

Status
Not open for further replies.

alitheking

Hello All,

Glad to be a member. It is my first post in here. I have been busy recently with preparing an excel based calculator specially for off-grid, battery based systems , single phase. In fact, i am new to this field. I hope you all try the file attached and use it from time to another for a reference. Surely there will be some mistakes or questions somewhere, please do not hesitate all to post a suggestion or a question or a help in here. I want to develop it. many things i want to apply but still restricted by my excel knowledge limitations!

The questions on my mind:
1. when having an off-grid system. We have two things to account for; first, the load and the daily operation. also, the back-up load and the wanted duration. When designing the PV array, we depend on the battery back-up load info? For example, if the load itself is 3000KW, and the operation hours daily =10h. but the battery backup required is to be for the 2000kw running 5h a day, what info i shall select to size my array? - i think it is the back-up info , is that right? waiting your replies.

Another thing to mention, All you want to enter in the file is the components' spec you want to use and the site lowest and highest temp. Excel will do the calculations accordingly including the conductor and the OCPDs sizing. The conductors are based on copper 90c temp rating only. :cry:

You will notice that the calculated conductor size will be one level smaller than requested. For example, if the conductor size shown is #8; that is in fact , #6 and so on!:happysad: Here the problem will arise when calculating the voltage drop which surely depends on the conductor size! it is a long story to talk about, i will leave you with the file and waiting for your building suggestions and opinions! :D