Ungrounded plant

Status
Not open for further replies.

pintofstout

I hope I'm ok to be posting here. I'm an HVAC tech. I have been reading till my eyes bleed but so much of what I'm reading is above my head. I would really appreciate some customized help or a link so something I can understand. Honestly, reading about grounds in the stickies only destroyed what I already understood.

I have been working in a facillity and noticed I had a-b=460 b-c=460 c-d=460, but ground-a=10 ground-b=460 ground-c=460. It was like I was reading phase a right off the grounding lug of the chiller. I found a fan on a package unit with a phase to ground short, all returned to normal. This was my first experience with an ungrounded facility. In the interest of safety, nevermind due diligence for my customer, I need to understand more.

My questions

Initially, with the breaker and disconnect off, I read continuity (70k) on the line side of the disconnect, all 3 phases. What am I reading there?

This facility is fed by 3 substations that are grounded. During a phase to ground fault, the grounded phase is readable everywhere in the plant it seems. what prevents the phase from finding a ground elsewhere in the plant, specifically a person who may be in contact with something that is grounded?

What is the final destination of "spent" current (assuming you will let me get away with that). I hate to admit this but I always thought earth would provide a clear drain for current to move to. This forum killed that but I'm struggling to properly retool this fundamental.

If you guys know of any good reading that might help me I'd really appreciate it.

Thank You
Brian

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager
Sure looks like you found a ground fault on the A phase.