NEC and State of the Art

Status
Not open for further replies.

treymorgan

As we know, the state of Florida is still using the 2008 NEC. As a professional engineer, I had specified that the installation shall meet NEC 2011. During a plan review, I was instructed to change that to NEC 2008.

My opinion is that the latest NEC is state of the art and is the proper reference, regardless of what edition has been accepted

For example, the 2014 NEC now requires two exits for electric rooms with an 800A service where is used to be required for 1200A services.

My opinion is that I would be negligent if I did not design to the state of art. What if someone got killed because they could not get out of the room and I knew better.

Another example is the expanded use of arc fault devices. If I knew the state of art, but chose not to use it, I could be held liable.

Of course, there would have to be an attorney who know the code.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Just an uniformed opinion, but I don't see where any liability could be in order as long as the adopted Code was used.
Keeping in mind that the Code is a minimum standard, designs often go above and beyond.
I see a pitfall in universally designing to a Code that has not been adopted as occasionally requirements are lessened and you would not want to put yourself in a position of specifying a requirement less than the adopted one.

suemarkp

Occupation
Retired Engineer
There are also things you're allowed to do in the 2011 or 2014 that are not allowed in 2008. One example is NM cable in residential outbuildings. In 2008 and 2011, it must be behind a 15 minute rated fire barrier. In 2014, it can remain exposed.

So if you did this under the 2014 rules, the inspector may shoot you down because that isn't allowed.