Transformer Standby Losses

Status
Not open for further replies.

delectric123

I have a 25 KVA 480 to 240 1 ph. step-down transformer. under no load the input current is 3.8 amps. any idea what the power factor would be so I can calculate the standby losses?

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector
I have a 25 KVA 480 to 240 1 ph. step-down transformer. under no load the input current is 3.8 amps. any idea what the power factor would be so I can calculate the standby losses?

Gee, this could get into quite an engineering discussion due to the variables involved such as transformer design. I might add that it would be over my head as I'm not an engineer. My inclination would be to simply use a true watt meter to check for the value and call it a day.
I do think it is a fair question as unloaded transformers can have considerable energy losses. I'll let the experts chime in.

gar

Occupation
EE
140211-2119 EST

I don't know for your size, but my guess is below 0.1 and probably lower.

On a 175 W transformer I measured 0.18 . A larger transformer should have a lower PF. Also the core material, and transformer design will have a considerable influence. Excitation voltage vs design voltage is a major factor.

See http://www.csemag.com/single-articl...oncerns/478c06eebfe849e4db9cbec2f3969fe7.html

If we assume 3% loss at 35% load and that 50% of the loss at 35% load is no load loss, then for your 25 kVA unit we get 0.03 * 0.35 * 0.5 * 25,000 = 131 W. This would be a PF of 0.005 .

Using older design criteria the result is PF = 0.03 * 0.5 = 0.015 . Both seem low. But I don't have a 25 kVA to test. A 2 kVA at the shop, no load, runs too hot to touch. Is 3% loss a valid criteria at 100% load in an older design?

Check the specification for your particular transformer.

broadgage

If the transformer is reasonably new, then loss data should be available from the supplier.