License requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jim Lenardson

Hi. I'm a master electrician working in industrial machine maintenance. My understanding of the code has always been that anyone working within an energized machine panel must be licensed by the state as an apprentice, journeyman or master electrician. No other unqualified individuals are allowed in the area. Am I wrong in my interpretation?

Hi. I'm a master electrician working in industrial machine maintenance. My understanding of the code has always been that anyone working within an energized machine panel must be licensed by the state as an apprentice, journeyman or master electrician. No other unqualified individuals are allowed in the area. Am I wrong in my interpretation?

That depends on your local areas licensing requirements. Some areas require it for doing electrical work, others don't. Where are you located at?

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Under OSHA, it is rare and hard to justify for anyone to work with inside energized equipment (live work) regardless of their training or licensing.

Tapatalk!

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
Under OSHA, it is rare and hard to justify for anyone to work with inside energized equipment (live work) regardless of their training or licensing.

That depends on how you define the word 'work'. OSHA definitely allows troubleshooting energized equipment.

But I agree with the intent behind your comment. I see little reason for the majority of insulated tools. Rarely have I ever had to use wire cutters and strippers as part of routine troubleshooting (yes I've done it but I normally didn't have to).