Transfer switch installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigmaca

Hey guys,
ie
Need your help. I've started a new job installing residential 8kw Generac Generators. I've never done generator installations before last week. I live in Mass. My question is about the actual transfer switch. Specifically the neutrals only. Those guys that install transfer switches understand that the neutrals are labeled 1-12 on a 12 circuit panel. Can I remove the neutrals from the transfer switch and just tie in the main neutral from the transfer switch to the main neutral bar in the main panel? So I would eliminate the 12 neutrals from the transfer switch and tie the main neutral only. The only reason I am asking is because it would keep the main panel extremely clean. I do want to follow the code.

Thanks guys!

Mike

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Hey guys,
ie
Need your help. I've started a new job installing residential 8kw Generac Generators. I've never done generator installations before last week. I live in Mass. My question is about the actual transfer switch. Specifically the neutrals only. Those guys that install transfer switches understand that the neutrals are labeled 1-12 on a 12 circuit panel. Can I remove the neutrals from the transfer switch and just tie in the main neutral from the transfer switch to the main neutral bar in the main panel? So I would eliminate the 12 neutrals from the transfer switch and tie the main neutral only. The only reason I am asking is because it would keep the main panel extremely clean. I do want to follow the code.

Thanks guys!

Mike
It sounds from your description as if you are talking about the circuit-by-circuit manual transfer switch kit in which you pull wires from the breaker of each generator fed load from the main panel, run through the one of the circuit transfer switches and the run the TS output back into the main panel where it is connected to the load wire.