extrapolating summer peak from winter peak

Status
Not open for further replies.

injineers

Hi I am a student and need some understanding about how extrapolation works with peak loads in summer and winter. I am doing a transformer replacement project which requires peak load for summer and winter so that I can calculate load factor and then recommend replacements for overloaded transformers. I have a sample kva for 8 to 10 transformers for winter. Now I need to extrapolate this data for the whole feeder and then calculate summer peak.

I don't know how to start it. Really confused! as a student should be :p

BR

mgookin

Hello good neighbor to the north and welcome to the forums. :thumbsup:

Are you asking about the definition of extrapolate? Or the process of extrapolating something? Basically it means to find your point between two other points, and from there create a formula from which you can do your calculation.

Example: With horizontal gradients on a map, a line 50 miles to the north says value "x" and 150 miles to the south it says "y". That puts me 0.75 of the way from y to x. To extrapolate the value for the location of a project the formula would be ((y-x)*.75)+y

So what is your objective and what are your input data? Let's work together to get you a formula.

bob

Your answer may be as simple as asking the utility for the summer and winter peaks or not. Your plant, depending on the product, may have a summer peak. If you are making surfboards, the workload would increase during the summer months. If you plant produces a product that is used through out the year, the answer may be just the addition of cooling load. Suggest you check these out.

Timbert