5KW System Design Help Requested - Array Disconnect location

Status
Not open for further replies.

Scratchbuilt

Hello all,

I would like to get some input here as to a Utility Interactive system I am installing for a client of ours. I am fairly new to the PV realm so I have some questions regarding the disconnect locations and other things that I would like to clear up. This system is BIPV (shingles) and consists of the following:

- 12 strings (paralleled) of 10 modules (series)
- Isc for each string is 5.5A
- Inverter is rated at 5KW continuos, 100A DC max. input current, 108A max input SC current
- Inverter will be located remote from the PV array (approx 100' conduit run length) and is located inside on the opposite end of the building, where the main electrical service is located.

My questions are:

1) Isc @ STC for array is 66 amps (5.5A x 12). 66A x 1.25 x 1.25(690.8 (B)(2) = 103A. My conductors will be # 2 THHN for the output circuit. I will only have one output circuit (from combiner) to the inverter. I will need to install a disconnect for the PV output circuit on the outside of the building per 690.14 (c)(1). I plan to install a 200A 2P non-fused disconnect. Does this disconnect need to be fused with a 110A DC fuse? I dont think it does since there is only one output circuit that will be connected to the inverter, right?

2) I think I know the answer to this one but I will ask it anyway. Would it be acceptable to install a 100A disconnect instead of the 200A disconnect since Imp is 97A and max input current for the inverter is 100A (max. input short circuit current is 108A)?