Calculating breaker for a glycol chiller

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alright, a quick background; I'm just an apprentice, so there's a lot I've got to learn.

To my question. I'm building a brewery and we are going to be installing a glycol chiller. I'm not familiar with this equipment but I've been told by everyone that is basically just motors. Its quite large and the FLA is 145A.

So my issue is that the electrical engineer put into the plans to use a 150A beaker. Now, the way that I understand the code is that this isn't right, I thought NEC says your branch circuit breaker size needs to be 250% of the FLA.

Can anyone tell me if I'm wrong; and why? It's something I'm not fully understanding

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector
Alright, a quick background; I'm just an apprentice, so there's a lot I've got to learn.

To my question. I'm building a brewery and we are going to be installing a glycol chiller. I'm not familiar with this equipment but I've been told by everyone that is basically just motors. Its quite large and the FLA is 145A.

So my issue is that the electrical engineer put into the plans to use a 150A beaker. Now, the way that I understand the code is that this isn't right, I thought NEC says your branch circuit breaker size needs to be 250% of the FLA.

Can anyone tell me if I'm wrong; and why? It's something I'm not fully understanding

This equipment should be marked with a value for "minimum circuit ampacity" (MCA) which you use to size the branch conductors and "maximum fuse or circuit breaker" which you use for the branch breaker. If the max indicated does not mention "breaker" you must use a fuse.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
If it is a chiller, it is most likely covered by Article 440 and not Article 430. Give us all of the information on the nameplate of the equipment.