2000 Amp Switchboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

dav5y

Hello All,

I'm an electrical engineer and I'm designing for a new generator and ATS installation. Currently there is a 1600A (main switch), 480V switchboard feeding multiple bkr's. For the ATS I was planning on removing the current connection from the main switch (load side) to the bus and re-route, with cable, from the main switch to the normal side of the ATS. Bringing the load side back to the bus. Is it possible to reconfigure the load side of the main switch to do this, or an easier way ???? Any advice or ideas would be helpful ....

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
I am unfamiliar with the use of the phrase "main switch" in this context. Is this a "switch" located outside switchboard enclosure? Is it more properly called a "breaker," and is it located within and connected to the main bus within the enclosure? If this thing is inside the enclosure, I don't think you will want to alter the way it is connected. You would have to get the manufacturer to buy into your proposed changes, and I doubt they would agree.

Shoe

Is this a single assembly connected by bussing? If you need to "break" the bussing within, I have done this before. But best to have a contractor or field-technician for the switchboard manufacturer to review and make sure it can be done. You'll also need to review available space for cabling and termination to the existing enclosure.

Actually, my application would have been very similar to the one you describe, which added a generator back up the load for that entire assembly.

Last edited:

dav5y

The main ckt breaker is in the same enlosure as the switchboard. It's the ct, main breaker then to mutiple breakers off the bus.

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector
The main ckt breaker is in the same enlosure as the switchboard. It's the ct, main breaker then to mutiple breakers off the bus.