Question about equipotential grids.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just got done watching Mike's video on stray voltage on youtube and have a couple of questions.

I think I understood why you need a gradient ramp to get cows to walk from the earth into the steel shed with the 3 volt energized slab. But later in the video, when he talked about the solution for the energized water by energizing the deck to equal the pool water , I was wondering if a wet person or dog could get a shock when stepping on to the energized deck.

Am I not understanding something correctly to ask that question? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I am not an electrician and never plan to any work that's required to be done by a licenced electrician. I am a GC that does pour concrete and would like to get a good understanding of the subject.

kwired

Electron manager
The pool water is required to be bonded to the equipotential bonding as well as all conductive objects within a certain zone around the pool, such as diving platforms, ladders, underwater lighting shells, lifts for ADA purposes...

This bond may be via other bonded items in contact with the water including plumbing for circulation equipment, if there is no bonded items in contact with the water then NEC tells us a minimum size of metallic component must be used to make an electrode in that water.