Overhead

Status
Not open for further replies.
Question:

im in trying to calculate my overhead. How do I apply my salary. On average 2 days a week I work in the field with my tools. That time (16 hours) would not be applied to the overhead because that's a direct job expense. The rest of the week I'm doing office/management work. How do I apply that time to overhead. Would I just say around 2/3 of my salary get included?

Bob, question....I should tell the office staff the same thing. I'll pay you at the end if the year?

Cadpoint, the link for overhead did not work. Thank you

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Bob, question....I should tell the office staff the same thing. I'll pay you at the end if the year?
No. Paying the staff and the other bills comes before your pay, assuming there is anything left.

There is nothing that says you cannot collect some of what is left over along the way but the bottom line is that if there is nothing left to pay yourself with there just won't be any pay for you.

Small business owners often end up earning less than what they could make working for someone else. It is hard to consistently turn a profit.

No. Paying the staff and the other bills comes before your pay, assuming there is anything left.

There is nothing that says you cannot collect some of what is left over along the way but the bottom line is that if there is nothing left to pay yourself with there just won't be any pay for you.

Small business owners often end up earning less than what they could make working for someone else. It is hard to consistently turn a profit.

The above is one reason the OP is trying to determine his overhead. He specifically asked about his salary, not his businesses profit.

To the OP: You are an employee of your business. Figure your salary into your overhead as you would any other employee.