700A breaker to feed 300A Fused Disconnect?

Status
Not open for further replies.

handymann

Hello everyone. I am new to Mike Holts forum but I was lucky enough to watch his video series on the 2005 NEC and he definitely made the NEC entertaining for me since I could not read through a few pages without drifting off. Anyway...

Here are the details
An 800A main breaker for the MCC.
A 700A breaker in the MCC that currently feeds a compressor that will be decommishioned.

My boss is suggesting we use the existing feed from the 700A breaker and place a new 300A fused disconnect that ends where the old drive for the compressor is. This is all so we don't have to run more wire and install a new bucket/breaker in the MCC and we can run a 150HP pump.

I don't have much experience but it seems a little odd to me to use 300A fuses in order to create the feed for the 150Hp pump and go from 700A at the disconnect, then have 300A fuses to ensure we will have proper overcurrent protection.

Please share your thoughts.

Thank you

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
If the wire from the MCC is protected at 700 amps with the appropriate wire then there is no reason that I know that would prohibit this install. The lugs for the disconnect may not be able to support the wire from the MCC. At 700 amps I think you have parallel conductors so you will have a problem with the install.

Let me ask you are you an engineer or a handy man?

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
What's the distance between the 700 and 300 amp equipment? You may be able to apply one of the tap rules.

handymann

Dennis Alwon

Dennis Alwon

If the wire from the MCC is protected at 700 amps with the appropriate wire then there is no reason that I know that would prohibit this install. The lugs for the disconnect may not be able to support the wire from the MCC. At 700 amps I think you have parallel conductors so you will have a problem with the install.