Weatherproofing of Enclosures

Status
Not open for further replies.

DWEames

I'm an electrical contractor (almost licensed I hope) working in New Orleans, LA. We have lots of rain in case you didn't know. Today a customer called me about her ARC fault breaker tripping. I told her that the ARC fault breaker is prone to that. But I didn't have a lot of good answers about why. I told her they suck in water. But I was hoping to alleviate her concern on the issues of standard breakers as well as her meter, etc...This is a house with no eves, or gutter (which I've run into more times than you would imagine), and that leads to the question of the code, and how/when to properly install outdoor rated panels in situations with extreme water issues due to building types, and if and when water is a persistent problem, how to more adequately protect these panels from the intrusion of water...Any practical or scientific input much appreciated.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I'm an electrical contractor (almost licensed I hope) working in New Orleans, LA. We have lots of rain in case you didn't know. Today a customer called me about her ARC fault breaker tripping. I told her that the ARC fault breaker is prone to that. But I didn't have a lot of good answers about why. I told her they suck in water. But I was hoping to alleviate her concern on the issues of standard breakers as well as her meter, etc...This is a house with no eves, or gutter (which I've run into more times than you would imagine), and that leads to the question of the code, and how/when to properly install outdoor rated panels in situations with extreme water issues due to building types, and if and when water is a persistent problem, how to more adequately protect these panels from the intrusion of water...Any practical or scientific input much appreciated.