Dont pay taxes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well its almost tax time again and I wanted to make a comment. I am a great electrician, but not a very good business person: I probably dont charge enough, dont say no enough, and go out of my too much to help people out. However, I am very good at cutting my costs and overhead. Along those lines I wanted to offer a bit of advice to the forum. You NEED to establish an LLC or an S corp and find the right accountant. I am surprised how many people I meet in the trades who work as a sole proprietor. You are throwing money away if you do this. Many people seem to accept that you pay about 10-12% to uncle sam, but if you set your business structure up right, you will not pay anything. Like it or not, the tax rules favor corporations so take advantage of it. Having the right accountant is important too. One thing you can ask your accountant or a perspective accountant is if they will set up most of your income as rents. What this means is that you can receive some of your income as "salary" but most as "rent" for your tools, office, garage, etc. The rental portion will not be subject to self employment taxes. My accountant knows this figure (if I recall its around $4500) that the IRS wants to see as salary and the rest can be "rent". So that is one strategy your accountant should be using. I didnt make a ton by any means last year, about $32000 that "the company" paid me, plus some fringe benefits of some tools, equipment, and materials, that "the company" paid for, and I am not paying any taxes this year. Last year was similar and I paid $4 . So pay $450 a year and save $3000 a year and form that LLC if you havent yet. If you want my account's information (he is a lawyer too, which I think is partly why he is so good) PM me.

"In america, there are two tax systems: one for the informed and one for the uninformed. Both are legal"

"Anyone may arrange his affairs so that his taxes shall be as low as