Convert a 250V/50A NEMA 10 receptacle to a NEMA 6 15A?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a NEMA 10 250V50A receptacle and I need to change this to a NEMA 6 15A Receptacle.
How would I go about doing this? Novice here, so please keep it some what simple.

Attachments

• 250v3p.jpg
    250v3p.jpg
    8.7 KB · Views: 0
  • 220v.jpg
    220v.jpg
    20.1 KB · Views: 0

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
My best two answers would be, (1) You don't. Instead you throw this one out and buy the one you need, and (2) Why should you want to do that?

Welcome to the forum.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
With all due respect to charlieb, I have been called upon to perform similar tasks.
You need to keep[ 210.21(B)(1) in mind and make sure you provide the correct overcurrent protection for the new receptacle.

kwired

Electron manager
I have a NEMA 10 250V50A receptacle and I need to change this to a NEMA 6 15A Receptacle.
How would I go about doing this? Novice here, so please keep it some what simple.
Assuming the original was supplied with 50 amp conductors - splice on smaller conductors with an approved splicing method for the conductors utilized, chances are the new device will not accept the larger conductor that is present. And as mentioned reduce overcurrent protection to the correct size. You may have to reduce conductor size at the overcurrent device also, as many 15 amp devices will not accept conductors larger then 10AWG.

My best two answers would be, (1) You don't. Instead you throw this one out and buy the one you need, and (2) Why should you want to do that?

Welcome to the forum.

Thanks for the welcome. I have a print machine with a nema 6 15a plug and the closest receptacle is the nema 10 50a. It would be nice to use the existing receptacle box with the lines already there.