Office in a MCC

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeli04

I am an electrician for a local government agency and we recently upgraded the MCC room. Now they are about to upgrade the rest of the building and there is an office space in the building. They were going to move the office space to a temporary trailer but instead to save money they moved them into the new MCC. Now all the MCC panels have 36" of clearance in front of them but is it legit to have multiple desks in a MCC. I am not happy with this decision and i am look for something in black and white to prove they can't be in there.

jrannis

I am an electrician for a local government agency and we recently upgraded the MCC room. Now they are about to upgrade the rest of the building and there is an office space in the building. They were going to move the office space to a temporary trailer but instead to save money they moved them into the new MCC. Now all the MCC panels have 36" of clearance in front of them but is it legit to have multiple desks in a MCC. I am not happy with this decision and i am look for something in black and white to prove they can't be in there.

That space really hasn't been designed to be comfortable for people, it was designed for equipment.
Are there any loud transformers in there?

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Will they be wearing the appropriate PPE in case a breaker opens while they are there?
:angel:
They may not interact with it but it sure could interact with them.

Tapatalk!

mgookin

Will they be wearing the appropriate PPE in case a breaker opens while they are there?
:angel:
They may not interact with it but it sure could interact with them.

Tapatalk!

That was my question too. You beat me to it! :lol:

OP: Call your buddy the fire marshal and chat about it over a cup of coffee.

Does the voltage, amperage or any other factor require restricted access?