When to get/not get a Permit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ragin Cajun

We have several industrial and large commercial clients who brought up this question. When should (or not) they get a permit for internal work such as upgrading/moving/installing new equipment, adding/moving/deleting a partition, installing new light fixtures/ceilings on a regular schedule in product display areas, and similar internal work that doesn't involve major structural, etc.???

They have their own internal crafts personnel for civil, HVAC, piping, electrical instrumentation, etc. that are capable and typically one or more plant engineers doing some of the design.

When I was a plant engineer we did this sort of work all the time without permits. The only time we did get permits was when we broke ground for major civil/structural work, and even then I don?t recall any inspections except when we put in a mobile home type building for the credit union.

I asked the local electrical inspector and he said that they would like to be involved to be sure the work was done properly. But he acknowledged that this type of work has been going on without permits since the dark ages. What they don?t ?see? they don?t know something is going on. Note, the inspectors here are not anal but do a good job. Only occasionally have I had issues with small town AHJ's.

What's the situation in your area? I would like to give some form of reply to our clients that will give them something to hand their hats on.

Thanks,

RC

iwire

Staff member
In my area industrial and commercial sites that have electricians can pull a yearly maintenance permit which covers repairs only.

Any new installation is required by law to get a specific permit and inspection.

Yes, it is often ignored but that does not change the rules.

mgookin

Pretty much the same here as iwire says.
Annual facility permits are available.
Reality is that they (almost) never get them.