Machine Main Electrical Feed Breaker

Status
Not open for further replies.
Asking for comments on the breaker installation in the pictures below. I am trying to find applicable codes covering the obvious problems in the pictures. The wiring to the breaker is two parrallel feeds of 500mcm cable. As you can see in the pictures, the breaker is installed on top of several contactors and a power supply. This installation is on a new machine installed in 2013 in North East Louisiana. I have raised concerns about the installation in terms of future maintenance and troubleshooting of the devices blocked by the main feed breaker. I am also concerned about stress from the way the cable is installed on the breaker itself. I believe there may be bend radius problems with the 500mcm cable. I am a maintenance technician in a plant with a lot of different and older equipment so I don't have a lot of time to research the code.

I would appreciate any and all comments in reference to this post and the pictures below.

Thanks in advance,

IMG_20140127_121418_899.jpg IMG_20140127_121432_865.jpg IMG_20140127_121446_944.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

meternerd

Occupation
retired water & electric utility electrician, meter/relay tech
Hard to get enough room in most MCC buckets to make nice smooth bends. In most factory wired breaker panels, the bends are VERY sharp and wire sizing is usually smaller than Code. Exempt from the Code, I think. If it works for them.... Breaker lugs are pretty stout on most brands, so I doubt strain is a problem. From the pictures, it doesn't look like a parallel fed breaker. It's set up with a mechanical interlock and it looks like the load is fed from two different sources. If that's the case, that makes room for wiring even tighter. Sometimes in wiring MCC's, you do what you have to do. Just my opinion, though.