Trouble with Warehouse Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skelufteay

I was asked for some advice on a potentially burned breaker, and am kind of stumped on what to do next. I have some experience in electrical troubleshooting with Solar, but building wiring is still a little new to me. So any advice you can give would be awesome (and I know enough not to shock myself or damage things).

History on building:
It is a warehouse (1.2k sqft) built in the 70's, originally used for storage, then modified to be a call center, and now it is a theatre with office. Due to all these changes, outlets have been added, exit signs have been added, and the circuit breaker is more or less unmarked and illogical (figuring out marking will be my next project).

A few months back, the office circuit was overloaded and the breaker tripped (a space heater was turned on the same time as the microwave or something like that). When we turned the breaker off, then on again, half of the outlets came back on, but one outlet and the exit signs did not (yes, I know they should be on a dedicated circuit but for whatever reason they are not). This strikes me as very odd, since (I believe) each breaker should only have one wire and all the devices are connected in series. From what I am gathering, I think there are two lines on the same breaker, as some outlets work but others do not.

What I have tried so far:

I tested the outlet that was not working (its a 4 plug box, made of two receptacles with 2 sets of 3 prongs each), for continuity (while breaker off).
  • The negative wire is continuous with the negative side of the outlet
  • The positive wire is continuous with the positive side of the outlet
  • The neg/pos/GND wires are continuous with the wires from one receptacle to the other (so i know that the lines between them are alright)