Feeling Overwhelmed... small RV "park" buildout

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerm

[FONT=arial, sans-serif]It's been awhile, but here I am, with an issue that I know someone on the forums can at least give me a clue on. I've read the entire article on conductor sizing at [/FONT]http://www.mikeholt.com/nec-conductor-sizing-and-protection.php but I'm not entirely sure where to start on a small enginnering project.

For those who don't remember (and why would you!?), my background is commercial and industrial projects (I'm a journeyman in OK) that typically come with a set of prints. I'm also great at transformers, motor controls, automation, running long overhead lines to oil wells...

For the "where do I even start" project, I'm involved with a local club that has a big event once a year that typically brings out the RV's, and with them, the generators. Over the past three years, I've been slowly bringing the club's electrical infrastructure up to code (what a mess) and I'm to the point of wanting to add "some" (8?) pedestal rv outlets, TT-30's probably, (maybe 14-50's instead) and I'm just not sure how to most efficiently size the wire and overcurrent devices. I guess I'm not really clear on if I'm really running feeders or branch circuits, as weird as that may sound... let me explain...

Midwest makes an unmetered nema-3 enclosure that has a TT-30R and a 30-amp breaker inside. Does that make it a "panelboard?" It occurs to me that I can probably dig up the definition in article 100... If it is a panelboard, is the branch circuit just the recept with a 6 inch wire to the breaker? Can I just run 3/0 off a 200a disconnect and loop between all of them in a row? Half-way down the row, the total amperage on the line would be much less, but I can't really drop down to something like #4 because I've got to protect the wire and a 200a disconnect is not going to protect a #4...