Melted neutral wires120/240

Status
Not open for further replies.

Strombea

Quick question,

I am an electrician in Arizona and I was called to repair and inspect a few melted 14 and 12 awg wires in the panel. None of the neutrals are shared and none seemed to be overloaded at the time (house could have had equipment plugged in overloading the neutral in the past). I cut them back and reinstalled to the buss, but out of curiosity I would like to know the reason a neutral (not shared) would melt or heat up before the hot wire does.(bad breaker or not, the current is the same through both wire, so why neutral hotter?)

No connections were loose or a cause for higher resistance.

I understand the electrons travel further on the neutral side as the hot side always has the electricity thus not traveling as far. Example: hot wire 100 ft to outlet with electrons already there, neutral wire 100 ft with no electrons until the circuit is closed. Is this the reason an unshared neutral will melt before the hot wire.

Not a big deal just thought I'd ask.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
Were the nuetrals loose in the lugs?

Was this NM wire Hot nuetral ground.?

if all appears good I would turn off all circuits except for one of the melted circuits. Then I would load up that circuit and see if all the return current is on the corresponding nuetral. If not further test.

winnie

Occupation
Electric motor research
Is there any possibility that current flow on the neutral bar, unrelated to the circuits in question, caused enough heating to melt the insulation.

Is there any possibility that this is a 120V panelboard (not a 120/240 panelboard) and that _all_ of the system current is being carried by the neutral bar?

-Jon

xformer

Occupation
Master Electrician
Quick question,