grounded B phase. newbie please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmaki

I am a new maintenance tech at my work. I am the only tech and no one else seems to know anything about electrical stuff here which is a good thing. We have 480V and what I believe is 480 grounded B as well. I know nothing about the grounded B system. It is labeled at one point as 240V. When I check it I get 240 to ground on A and C and nothing on B. Phase to phase is 480. Is this system 480 or 240?
Sorry about this but I have a bunch of questions. Can this system be ran through disconnects labeled for 250VAC? I see on at least 1 system the B phase is fused. Is this allowed? I thought I read somewhere that the B phase needed to be unfused. Please advise.
I have 480 3ph coming from a panel going to a transformer where it comes out grounded B. Is there any purpose for this? Why would we not just keep running the 480 3ph?
I found 1 disconnect on the grounded B phase that is fused at 30amps. It then goes into an outlet and carries on to another disconnect with 40 amp fuses. This seems completely backwards. The second disconnect was added recently for a new paint booth. (I guess the last tech was a real idiot)

Thanks for your help

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I am a new maintenance tech at my work. I am the only tech and no one else seems to know anything about electrical stuff here which is a good thing. We have 480V and what I believe is 480 grounded B as well. I know nothing about the grounded B system. It is labeled at one point as 240V. When I check it I get 240 to ground on A and C and nothing on B. Phase to phase is 480. Is this system 480 or 240?
The numbers don't make sense. It sounds more like you have a 480volt with B phase grounded but your A & C would measure 480 to ground.
Sorry about this but I have a bunch of questions. Can this system be ran through disconnects labeled for 250VAC?
If it's 480 phase to phase, No.